Skip Navigation LinksNews
All news

Durban International Film Festival Announces Award Winners for 2017

07 Aug, 2017

Seen are some of the highlights from the 38th Durban International Film Festival (DIFF) Awards at the Playhouse Theatre.

The creme de la creme of South African film were honoured at the 38th Durban International Film Festival (DIFF) awards ceremony.

Attended by dignitaries such as Minister in the Presidency Jeff Radebe, eThekwini Deputy Mayor Fawzia Peer, acclaimed playwright, and theatre stalwart Dr Mbongeni Ngema, the ceremony was held at the Durban Playhouse on 22 July. The film festival is hosted by the Centre for Creative Arts within the College of Humanities.

The award for the Best Feature Film went to A Father's Will; while the award for Best South African Feature Film went to Vaya directed by Akin Omotoso. The Best Director for a South African Film went to John Trentgrove for The Wound.

Other winners were:

  • Best South African Documentary was taken by Strike A Rock, directed by Aliki Saragas
  • Best International Documentary went to Dusk Chorus directed by Nika Šaravanja and Alessandro D'Emilia.
  • Best Actor went to Nakhane Touré (The Wound).
  • Mariam Al Ferjani (Beauty and the Dogs) took Best Actress. Best Screenplay and Best Editing went to La Soledad. The award for Best International Short went to Witnesses. All of Us, took the Best African Short with the Hangman directed by Zwelethu Radebe, winning the Best South African Short award.
  • Best Direction in the international competition went to A Father's Will (Bakyt Mukul, Dastan Zhapar Uulu) with Best Cinematography (Akjol Bekbolotov).
  • Artistic Bravery went to Liyana directed by Amanda and Aaron Kopp.  
  • The Amnesty International Durban Human Rights Award f which comes with a cash prize of R10 000 went to Strike a Rock and Mama Colonel.
  • Serpent won the African Critic Award for being innovative and original in introducing a new cinematography into African film industry.  
  • The international jury had six jurors this year: award winning producer Carolyn Carew; Head of AFDA David Max Brown; award winning writer, director, script editor and facilitator Thandi Brewer; Producer/Directors Phillipe Lacoste, Etienne Fourie and Michel Zongo.
  • The South African jury had Thandie Brewer, and Khalo Matabane; while Documentary jury had Neil Brandt, Meganthrie Pillay and Roy Zetisky.
  • The Amnesty jury had Mark Powell, Margaret Daymond, Nonhlanhla Mkhize and Betty Rawheath.
  • The African Critic jury had Espera G. Donouvossi, Essam Zakarea and Edwin Micheni; while the Shorts jury were Rumbi Katedza and Dylan Wilson.

Melissa Mungroo

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved