School of Arts

Centre for Visual Art

Centre for Visual Art

The Centre for Visual Art (CVA) is home to the academic disciplines Fine Arts and Digital Arts.

Fine Art:

Fine Art is on the Pietermaritzburg campus of UKZN, and offers drawing, painting, printmaking, ceramics and art theory to students ranging from Level 1 (first year) up to the PhD in practice led research (PLR). Undergraduate students may study Fine Art as a major in a Bachelor of Arts (BA) degree, or do the Bachelor of Visual Arts (BAVA) structured degree, recommended for those who may wish to enter a visual arts-based career. The BAVA requires students to complete Digital Arts modules as well as all Fine Arts modules, and aims to prepare students for postgraduate study and/or professional practice in a variety of careers. Students from other Schools and Colleges may do Fine Arts modules as electives if their programme of study allows. 

Digital Art: 

Digital Arts is a programme of study offered on the Pietermaritzburg campus of the University of KwaZulu-Natal. The Digital Arts undergraduate and post graduate majors encompasses two main areas of study: a theoretical component which is aimed at understanding of the nature of digital media and a creative component aimed at helping students develop the skills needed to exploit the multiple creative possibilities made possible by the digital platform. The programme introduces the following digital processes: film production, animation, net art, interactive design, graphic design and digital image making.

CVA Staff

Dr Louise Hall

Ms Michelle Stewart

Dr Kathy Arbuckle

Dr Jessica Draper

Dr Yane Bakreski

Mrs Michelle Rall

Ms Amanda Bucknall

Mr Kuleza Phiri


  •  Mrs Catherine Murugan
  •  Admin: Teaching and Learning (UG)
  •  033 260 6253/5170
  •  Room 12 CVA

Undergraduate and Postgraduate Modules