School of Arts

Media Studies

Media and Cultural Studies is a cluster of disciplines related to the study of the modern mass media such as newspapers, radio, film, television and the new digital media. Although the main focus of the undergraduate degree is on the theoretical analysis and understanding of these media, we do also offer students some opportunities to develop their practical skills in media production.

Postgrad Courses on Offer:

Advanced Television Studies; Contemporary Film Theory; Media and Warfare; Cultural & Media Stud: Critical Methodology; Digital Design for the New Media; Journalism & Media Theory; Strategic Corporate Communication; Video Production; Advanced Video Production; Consumer Culture; Introduction to Documentary Video; Special Topics: Media and Cultural Studies; and Research Paper: Media & Cultural Studies.

Contact Us:

Name Email Address Contact No Campus
Prof A van der Hoven vdhoven@ukzn.ac.za Room 124, OMB 0332605304 PMB
Dr N Jones Jonesn1@ukzn.ac.za Room 132B, OMB 0332605957 PMB
Dr C Scott scottC@ukzn.ac.za Room 132A, OMB 0332606050 PMB
Ms S Moodley Moodleys64@ukzn.ac.za Room 126, OMB 0332605305 PMB
Ms F Jackson FJackson@ukzn.ac.za Room 13, OMB 0332605749 PMB
Mr M Hatton Hatton@ukzn.ac.za CVA 0332606960 PMB
Ms S Pitcher pitcher@ukzn.ac.za Room 127, OMB 0332605542 PMB
Ms D Bowen (Admin) bowenD@ukzn.ac.za Room 131, OMB 0332605297 PMB