School of Arts

Excellence lauded at School of Arts Awards

Award winners from the School of Arts.
Award winners from the School of Arts.
Award winners from the School of Arts.
Award winners from the School of Arts.

The School of Arts in the College of Humanities recently held its excellence awards at the Centre for Jazz and Popular Music (CJPM). Students and staff were lauded for their excellent performance in various categories. This is an annual event in the School, which is linked to the University’s REACHT values.

Acting Dean and Head of the School, Professor Nobuhle Hlongwa said UKZN aims to establish a value-driven organisational culture which empowers the institution and its people to achieve institutional goals.

‘The success of UKZN in inspiring greatness depends upon an enabling organisational culture to enhance the reputation among internal and external partners.’

The awards recognised staff and students for academic, creative, community engagement Teaching and Learning and research. Hlongwa acknowledged Professor Sihawukele Ngubane and Professor Nicola Jones for their leadership contribution to the School since 2012 where they have served in various portfolios.

She thanked all the staff members in the School for working very hard to achieve UKZN goals and for contributing towards the success of the UKZN brand.

Students who received awards for academic excellence were Mr Waziwe Zondo, Mr Nsimire Mamboleo, Ms Mamello Motaung and Ms Vidyuta Samlal. Attaining awards respectively for Creative Excellence and Community Engagement Excellence were Ms Silindile Dlamini and Ms Princess Sibanda.

Dlamini, who studies African Music and Dance (AMD) described the award as ‘meaningful and an honour’. She added, ‘Getting this award is a blessing.  Awards of this nature are important because they recognise the hard work that students put into their studies and it encourages us to give off the best in our craft.’

Staff members who received awards in various categories were:

  • Top Researcher (Senior Lecturer/ Lecturer Level)- Dr Elijah Mkhatshwa
  • Top Researcher (Full/Associate Professor) – Prof Cheryl Stobie
  • Creative Excellence – Ms Pumelela Nqelenga
  • Community Engagement Excellence –  Ms Pumelela Nqelenga
  • Service Excellence – Ms Beverly Pennington
  • Inspirational REACHT – Mrs Nereeshni Chetty
  • Dean’s Special Recognition – Prof Sihawukele Ngubane
  • Dean’s Special Recognition – Dr Nicola Jones

Commenting on receiving his award, Ngubane said, ‘To be selected for this award means a lot to me and the entire Cluster of African Languages, Linguistics and Academic Modules whom we have worked as a team.  I get the rare privilege of working with an absolutely phenomenal team of colleagues whom I regard as the ones responsible for the excellence award. I have been committed to a common-good business model that seeks to intentionally bless each person it touches. After serving the School as both Cluster Leader and Academic Leader since 2012 with determination and dedication, the award is motivation for me to improve on what I do.  Thank you to the judges and the School in its entirety. This demonstrates that the School is well aware of the importance of exceeding its expectation.’

News Timeline

Tag Cloud